Pageant

Published October 17, 2011 by yourstruliejulie

20111017-191121.jpg

 

The first evening of the 2011 Miss Greenbelt Pageant, with my friend Alena.

I first discovered the Miss Greenbelt pageant from flyers at school even though I had heard about this pageant a couple of times before. I decided to check out the website, and after one look of evening gowns and the queen’s crowns, I was bound to do it. After a little research and the hunt for a sponsor, I was in. Rehearsals took up most of my summer and occupied me with dancing, etiquette, and attempting to be confident for once in my life. For what seemed like the first time, I actually had to go shopping for formal wear and clothes to dress up in. Up until that point, I would hate dressing up, but after the pageant I learned to love it. The practices that occured days before the pageant were hard and stressful, but as a group all 17 pageant sisters became closer to each other. The pageant took three days, plus the parade everyone participated in on the fourth day. This pageant took place during Labor Day Weekend, affiliated with Greenbelt’s Labor Day Festival. And the picture above was after the dance we did for the song “Circus” by Britney Spears. After the dance we did introductions and modeling.

Leave a Reply

